Rio 2016: Olympic track cycling - A look back at the gold medalists of 2012

Aug 10, 2016, 11:45 AM

With the retirement of a few big names after the London 2012 Olympic Games, track cycling is guaranteed some new Olympic Champions in Rio this week.

Great Britain was the dominant country on the track in London, claiming seven out of ten gold medals. Chris Hoy won the fifth and sixth gold medals of his career, with an individual title in the Men's keirin and as part of the team sprint squad with Philip Hindes and Jason Kenny.  Kenny also won a second gold medal, in the Men's individual sprint.

Great Britain's third double gold rider was Laura Trott, who took the Women's Omnium title, as well anchoring the Women's team pursuit squad, where she won the title with team mates Danielle King and Joanna Rowsell.

The final two British golds went to Victoria Pendleton in the Women's keirin, and the Men's team pursuit squad of Ed Clancy, Geraint Thomas, Steven Burke and Peter Kennaugh.

Three other countries also took gold medals, with Lasse Norman Hansen of Denmark winning the Men's Omnium, the German duo of Kristina Vogel and Miriam Welte taking the Women's team sprint, and Anna Meares of Australia becoming Olympic Champion in the Women's individual sprint.

With Chris Hoy and Victoria Pendleton both retiring after London, the Men's and Women's keirin are guaranteed new Olympic Champions.  Laura Trott will be in Rio to defend her titles, as will Anna Meares and Jason Kenny.  In the team events (pursuit and sprint), a mix of new and returning athletes will defend the titles.

While Great Britain is still one of the top countries in track cycling, a number of others have stepped up their programmes, winning world titles and setting world records, so we can expect to see strong battles for every Olympic gold medal in Rio.

Where to watch the Olympics